National Orthopaedic Literary Award


The National Orthopaedic Literary Award (NOLA) was established by Professor John O’Byrne in 2016 as a creative writing competition for medical students.  It has been judged by Roddy Doyle, Irish novelist, dramatist and screenwriter. He is the author of eleven novels for adults, eight books for children, seven plays and screenplays, and dozens of short stories.

Winning Story 2020 by Aisling O’Byrne

Winning Story 2019 by Grace O’Malley

Winning Story 2018 by Laura Byrne

Winning Story 2017 by Catherine O’Mahony

Winning Story 2016 by Stephen Flannery