The Irish Institute of Orthopaedic Surgeons was formed in 1972. Its functions included determining the need for new orthopaedic appointments, involvement in the replacement of those retiring, and a commitment to develop a training program in line with that being established in the UK under the auspices of the Specialist Advisory Committee (SAC) of the Joint Committee of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons.

There are seven members in the Executive Committee – The President, Honorary Academic Secretary, Honorary Academic Secretary, Honorary Treasurer,  Director of Training, Assistant Director of Training and the Core Curriculum Director.

The Irish Institute of Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery is a non-profit organisation established by  professionals within the Trauma and Orthopaedic community in the Republic of Ireland. We promote and develop excellence in patient care and surgical education with integrity and compassion. Our Scope of Activities focuses on Orthopaedic Surgical Education and the Delivery of Patient Care.

The Institute’s various Committees are an integral part of the Institute’s governance structure. They lead projects, policies, programs, and initiatives that support the IITOS’ Scope of Activities. Each Committee is made up of a chair and members selected by the IITOS’s Nominating Committee. Together, their interests and expertise contribute to both the IITOS’ and the Committee’s goals and mandates.

In this section, you will find key documents including annual reports, initiatives and standards information.